GW Nursing honors Dean’s Excellence Award winners after unprecedented year

GW dome
05/19/2021 08:50

After a year that tested our individual and collective fortitude, the GW Nursing faculty and staff gathered virtually on Friday, May 14 to honor and celebrate those who went above and beyond – the recipients of the 2020-2021 Dean’s Excellence Awards. Dean Jeffries, who presented the awards from onsite at Innovation Hall, hosted the event. The selection committee consisted of last year’s winners. For faculty: Megan Brown, Karen Kesten, Carol Lang, Kristen Stevens, Margaret Venzke, and Sherrie Wallington. For staff: Kyla Arager, Marie Brown, Paul Collings, Tina Le, and Srijana Silwal.

Faculty Excellence Awards

The following Dean’s Excellence Awards for faculty recognize our undergraduate and graduate educators who demonstrate excellence in their work with our students, both in teaching and mentoring.

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching:
Ayomide Bankole

Excellence in Graduate Teaching:
Joyce Pulcini

Excellence in Undergraduate Student Mentoring:
Adriana Glenn

Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring:
Karen Whitt

Excellence in Teaching in a Part-Time Appointment:
Helen Brown and Janet Ratzykewycz

Civility Award: 
Sandra Davis

Impact Award:
Crystel Farina

DAISY Award:
Nadine Marchi

DAISY Award for Preceptor (inaugural recipient):
Shannon Nicholson

Staff Excellence Awards

Citizenship Award:
David Mossinger and Joy Wu

Excellence in Service Award:
Matt Hess

Impact Award:
Jeff Richmond

Civility Award:
Hannah Hahn

Unsung Hero Award:
Dawn Griffin

In this extraordinarily unusual year, however, the school decided to acknowledge three teams that deserve a great deal of credit for their critical roles in helping it to rise and meet the challenge. These inaugural Heroic Effort Recognition Opportunity Awards, or Dean’s HERO Awards, were given to:

  • The COVID Team, led by Karen Drenkard. Team members include Safia Abdilahi, Karen Dawn, Patsy Deyo, Hannah Hahn, and Bonnie Sakallaris. 
  • The OLIT Team, led by Miro Liwosz. Team members include David Mossinger, Tiffany Moy, Katie Whitman and Joy Wu.
  • The Simulation Team, led by Crystel Farina. Team members include Paul Collins, Cynthia Kelley, Rebecca Melson, and Janice Ouellette.

The school also honored four faculty members who were inducted as fellows this year:

Fellows in the Academy of Nursing Education
Sabrina Beroz and Majeda El-Banna

Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing
Cathi Cox and Kathleen Griffith

And the celebration concluded with the recognition of two faculty members who are retiring, but have left an indelible mark on the GW School of Nursing – Jeanne Geiger-Brown and Karen Wyche.